The Industry Association for Australian Filmmakers and Performers in the U.S.

Follow Us

    Join AiF Mailling List

AiF News

  • Home
  • News
  • AiF announces final round of Honorees for the 2016 AiF Awards & Benefit Dinner

AiF announces final round of Honorees for the 2016 AiF Awards & Benefit Dinner

Thursday, October 06, 2016 10:15 PM | Carly Einfeld (Administrator)

Actress Rebel Wilson, Filmmakers James Wan and Sir Ridley Scott and Film Executive Greg Basser to be honored by Australians in Film at the 2016 AiF Awards


 Wilson will receive the inaugural Screen NSW Annette Kellermann Award,

honoring trailblazing Australian women in Hollywood,

at the October 19th Awards Show Event in Los Angeles


Actress Rebel Wilson, filmmakers James Wan and Sir Ridley Scott, and film executive Greg Basser will be amongst the honorees at this year's Australians in Film Awards. Rebel Wilson will receive the inaugural Screen NSW Annette Kellermann Award, presented by Vogue Australia; James Wan will receive the Fox Studios Australia International Award; Sir Ridley Scott will be awarded with the Ausfilm International Award; and Village Roadshow Entertainment Group CEO, Greg Basser, will receive the Qantas Orry-Kelly International Award onWednesday, October 19th at the AiF awards show event at NeueHouse Hollywood.


They join previously announced FOXTEL Breakthrough Award recipients: actorJai Courtney (Suicide Squad, Spartacus: Blood and Sand, Jack Reacher) and director Garth Davis (Lion, Top of the Lake), with host for the evening musician/actor/comedian/director Tim Minchin. Additional presenters, talent and more to be announced.


The inaugural Screen NSW Annette Kellermann Award presented by Vogue Australia honors trailblazing Australian women in Hollywood. The first-ever recipient of this award, Rebel Wilson began her career in stage and screen in Australia, notably in the TV series Bogan Pride which she starred in, wrote, and produced. After a breakout role in the 2011 box office hit Bridesmaids, Wilson has starred in a string of films including, Pitch Perfect and Pitch Perfect 2How to Be SinglePain & GainIce Age: Continental Drift and also created and starred in the television comedy Super Fun Night.


The Fox Studios Australia International Award will be presented to filmmakerJames Wan for his incredible contributions to international cinema, and also marks the first time a former FOXTEL Breakthrough Award winner will receive this award. The director, producer, and writer helmed Saw which went on to incredible success with subsequent sequels produced by Wan. He served as director for The Conjuring series, Insidious and Furious 7.  Wan's producing credits include Annabelle, the Insidious series, The Conjuring 2, and Lights Out.  He produced (and directed the pilot for) the new television series, MacGyver, which debuted on CBS this fall.


The Ausfilm International Award will be awarded to legendary and highly acclaimed filmmaker Sir Ridley Scott, who recently wrapped production of his latest film, Alien: Covenant in Sydney, of which the majority was shot at Fox Studios Australia. The award-winning filmmaker has been making films for forty years, including cinema icons such as Blade Runner, the Alien series, Thelma & LouiseGladiatorBlack Hawk Down and The Martian. The Ausfilm International Award is awarded to an international filmmaker who has contributed to the Australian film industry and Alien: Covenant not only had many Australian cast members, the production also employed over 950 people.


Village Roadshow Entertainment Group (VREG) CEO Greg Basser will receive the prestigious Qantas Orry-Kelly Award. Since joining Village Roadshow in 1999, Basser has been instrumental in the growth of the company and its expansion into financing Hollywood films. Basser started his entertainment career as lead legal counsel for VRL in Melbourne, helping to guide its public listing. He was critical in the establishment of the company's global cinema operations, the Austereo radio network in Australia, and VRL's theme park operations, in addition to overseeing film production and global legal and business affairs. In 1997 he was instrumental in the establishment of Village Roadshow Pictures and in 2011 he founded Village Roadshow Pictures Asia, VREG's Chinese film production division based in Beijing.


Kate Marks, President of Australians in Film commented on each of the honorees:


"Annette Kellermann was Australia's first leading lady to make an international name for herself in Hollywood. Rebel Wilson is a unique star, a one-off trailblazer who has made her own influential mark in Hollywood and represents what this award is about. Australians in Film, Screen NSW and Vogue Australia are proud to introduce the inaugural Screen NSW Annette Kellermann Award, recognizing great Australian women in the industry each year."


"James Wan is an extraordinary screen visionary. His work continually pushes the boundaries of big screen entertainment and we are thrilled to be able to honor one of our Breakthrough winners with the Fox Studios Australia International Award."


 "Sir Ridley Scott is a master of contemporary cinema and his films have changed the way we view the movies and the world. So much of his work has left a legacy and he is a true screen icon and one of the world's top directors.Alien: Covenant injected millions into the Australian economy and reinforced Australia's position as a leading country in which to produce big budget feature films."


"Village Roadshow is one of the most recognized entertainment brands in Australia and Greg Basser has been an integral part of the success of Village Roadshow Pictures, which is now one of the world's leading independent filmproducers and financiers. Greg's passion for this business and the industry is inspiring and we are thrilled to honor him with this award."


The AiF Awards and Benefit Dinner is aimed at supporting the organization's mission to usher Australian filmmakers into the international market and to provide educational and career development programs including the establishment of the new creative work sharing space, Charlie's in Hollywood.


Australians in Film proudly acknowledge the wonderful support of our Title Sponsors of the 2016 AiF Awards: Qantas, Village Roadshow, Fox Studios Australia, Ausfilm and FOXTEL.


For Event Sponsorships, Congratulatory Advertising, and Individual Tickets (prices start at $100) and more information, please contact Lauran Huff at or phone 310 201 5033 ext 3.


U.S. based media enquiries, please contact: 


Megan Levy, or on tel: 323 965 1990

Australian based media enquiries, please contact: 

Courtney Mayhew, 

 or on tel: + 61 2 8399 0626


The 2016 AiF Awards & Benefit

is proudly supported by our Title Sponsors


Australians in Film
Raleigh Studios
5300 Melrose Avenue
Suite #B211, Bronson Bldg 
Hollywood, CA 90038

Phone: 323 433 1464

Australians in Film gratefully acknowledges our generous supporters

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software